Thank you for purchasing through links and ads on this site.
OWC / MacSales.com...
diglloyd B&H Deal Finder...
Buy other stuff at Amazon.com...
Upgrade the memory of your 2019 iMac up to 128GB
877-865-7002
Today’s Deal Zone Items... Handpicked deals...
$1799 $1349
SAVE $450

$1399 $1049
SAVE $350

$150 $50
SAVE $100

$380 $340
SAVE $40

$489 $389
SAVE $100

$274 $174
SAVE $100

$1149 $1149
SAVE $0

$400 $300
SAVE $100

$699 $499
SAVE $200

$1997 $1097
SAVE $900

$499 $499
SAVE $0

$4500 $3500
SAVE $1000

$1000 $500
SAVE $500

$700 $600
SAVE $100

$1499 $699
SAVE $800

$700 $600
SAVE $100

$1499 $699
SAVE $800

$450 $110
SAVE $340

$369 $200
SAVE $169

$1699 $1199
SAVE $500

$649 $449
SAVE $200

$1498 $1198
SAVE $300

$999 $949
SAVE $50

$1099 $999
SAVE $100

$400 $300
SAVE $100

Excluding Items from Time Machine Backup

Last updated 2014-07-29 - Send Feedback
Related: backup, how-to, Lightroom, Time Machine
Exclude items from Time Machine backup

It is a good idea to exclude caches, temporary files, scratch volumes, etc from Time Machine backup. Excluding such items conserves space and reduces the time to backup.

How to exclude items

Open Time Machine system preferences, the click on Options… . The following dialog appears; you can drag things into it from the Finder.

I personally exclude system files and applications, because I backup those items via other means.

Excluding backup volumes

But a volume is used as a backup, then exclude backup volumes from Spotlight indexing (and also from Time Machine backup).

Exclude backup volumes from Time Machine; don’t backup a backup!

Adobe Lightroom considerations

The previews and cache generated by Adobe Lightroom should be excluded from backup, because they can be regenerated whenever desired.

Time Machine can and should be used to backup the Lightroom catalog file, but there are some caveats, see Adobe Lightroom and Time Machine Backup.

Especially with large 1:1 previews, the previews alone can total hundreds of gigabytes for users with many images. Previews are normally located in the same folder as your Lightroom Catalog, found in a folder ending in “...Previews.lrdata”.

Exclude Adobe Lightroom previews from Time Machine Backup

Apple Aperture considerations

The previews and cache generated by Apple Aperture are best excluded from backup, because they can be regenerated when desired.

Unlike Lightroom, Apple states that Time Machine can be used with Aperture without issues on Mac OS X Snow Leopard, but not Leopard.

Time Machine can and should be used to backup Aperture (in addition to other backups!).


MacPerformanceGuide.com
View all handpicked deals...

Apple 13.3" MacBook Pro with Touch Bar (Mid 2019, Space Gray)
$1799 $1349
SAVE $450

diglloyd.com | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY
Contact | About Lloyd Chambers | Consulting | Photo Tours
Mailing Lists | RSS Feeds | Twitter
Copyright © 2020 diglloyd Inc, all rights reserved.
Display info: __RETINA_INFO_STATUS__