Thank you for purchasing through links and ads on this site.
OWC / MacSales.com...
diglloyd Deal Finder...
Buy other stuff at Amazon.com...
Memory Upgrades for 2019 Mac Pro - Save Up to 65% vs Factory Costs
Handpicked deals...
$50 $50
SAVE $0

$1480 $1230
SAVE $250

$3999 $2499
SAVE $1500

$1498 $1098
SAVE $400

$2897 $1797
SAVE $1100

$399 $349
SAVE $50

$899 $699
SAVE $200

$3297 $1897
SAVE $1400

$749 $499
SAVE $250

$799 $567
SAVE $232

$870 $749
SAVE $121

$3499 $2199
SAVE $1300

$3599 $2299
SAVE $1300

$4499 $2650
SAVE $1849

$748 $598
SAVE $150

$899 $699
SAVE $200

$799 $729
SAVE $70

$3599 $2299
SAVE $1300

$3499 $2199
SAVE $1300

$4499 $2650
SAVE $1849

$1997 $897
SAVE $1100

$3099 $2499
SAVE $600

$2799 $2199
SAVE $600

$4999 $4599
SAVE $400

$4499 $2650
SAVE $1849

Save Big $$$$ on Memory for 2019 Mac Pro

Up to 65% better pricing than Apple

Lloyd recommends 32GB RDIMM modules for most users (more expensive LRDIMMS are for 512GB or more).


Using Time Machine with Adobe Lightroom

Last updated 2010-03-02 - Send Feedback
Related: backup, Lightroom, Time Machine

Adobe Lightroom version 2 (“LR2”) has some special considerations to keep in mind when backing up, especially with Time Machine. These considerations also apply to version 3.

Adobe Lightroom catalog backup

The metadata database used by Lightroom is one large SQLLite database file (an interesting design choice, since corruption of that one file generally means loss of all metadata).

If the catalog file is open and in-use when Apple’s Time Machine backs it up, and Lightroom is modifying the catalog during the backup, the backup of the database could be garbled, because it changed while being copied, and thus was in an inconsistent state.

That’s the theory at least: in practice the chances of this are low, so it’s not a reason to disable Time Machine backups for the Lightroom catalog.

First quit Lightroom, then Back Up Now

You can backup the Lightroom catalog with the Finder, with Time Machine, or anything else.

But backing-up the Lightroom catalog should be done when Lightroom is not running to ensure a good backup.

Lightroom 3 automatically excludes the currently-open Lightroom catalog from backup while Lightroom is running. I think this is an exceedingly poor design choice by Adobe, because in my testing, I was simply not able to produce a corrupted catalog with Lightroom 2. Even if one backup were bad, others would be good, and having a backup is far better than not having one. We must hope that a mistake is not made in excluding it even when Lightroom is not running eg if Lightroom crashes and therefore leaves it in the exclusion list. Caution is advised!

New Mac Pro?

Or iMac 5K or iMac Pro?
Consult with Lloyd ASAP before buying!


System configuration for CPU, GPU, memory, SSD, backup, RAID, optimizing performance, workflow.
For YOUR optimal workflow

Avoid costly mistakes in throwing money at the problem for less performance and/or buying the wrong machine for your own needs!

Remote screen sharing available for RAID, software configuration, etc.

More about 2019 Mac Pro vs iMac 5K vs iMac Pro...


Deals Updated Daily at B&H Photo

diglloyd.com | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY
Contact | About Lloyd Chambers | Consulting | Photo Tours
Mailing Lists | RSS Feeds | Twitter
Copyright © 2019 diglloyd Inc, all rights reserved.
Display info: __RETINA_INFO_STATUS__